Sustainability Model

Modelling Sustainable Development in Austria

Based on national and international experiences the project formulates necessary criteria for an Austrian modelling framework for integrated sustainability analysis. Bearing in mind the formulated criteria will support future efforts in model building in Austria.

Sustainable Development demands for full integration of the three core goals of sustainable growth, social stability and environmental protection. Therefore, integrating environmental and social dimensions in macro-economic objectives more explicitly is necessary, which poses a new challenge for economic modelling. This need demands for the development of simulation models, which allow for formulating and evaluating scenarios of the economic and social impacts of key environmental policy measures as well as of the impacts of economic measures on the environment.

Models suitable for simulating sustainability strategies have to fulfil some required criteria. Formulating these necessary criteria was the key aim of this project, which is sponsored by BMLFUW and worked on by SERI in co-operation with WIFO , the Austrian economic research institute.

Starting with an overview of theoretical models dealing with sustainability the project describes and analysis existing empirical models on national as well as on international level. Based on the gained experiences necessary criteria will be formulated, that an adequate modelling framework should fulfil, in order to improve and simplify the development of models. As the availability of data is a limiting factor of model building this point is also be considered.

The project results provide valuable insights for the development of an adequate sustainability modelling framework for the Austrian society.

Publications

Project partners


Project duration

  • 2003 – 2004


Related themes


Project website


 

Highlight: Ernährung


SERI Newsletter | Archive
* required field

Nachhaltigkeitsmodell

Ansätze zur Modellierung einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung in Österreich

Basierend auf nationalen und internationalen Erfahrungen werden in diesem Projekt Kriterien formuliert, die ein Österreichisches Modell für integrierte Nachhaltigkeitsanalysen unbedingt aufweisen sollte. Die Berücksichtigung dieser Kriterien kann zukünftige Anstrengungen zur Nachhaltigkeitsmodellierung unterstützen.

Das Ziel einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung erfordert eine vollständige Integration der drei Dimensionen Wirschaft, soziale Stabilität und Umweltschutz. Ökologische und soziale Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte explizit in makro-ökonomischen Zieldefinitionen zu berücksichtigen, stellt deshalb eine große Herausforderung für die ökonomische Modellierung dar. Dazu ist die Entwicklung von Simulationsmodellen unumgänglich, welche die Formulierung und Evaluierung von Szenarien ermöglichen, die ökonomische und soziale Auswirkungen umweltpolitischer Maßnahmen beurteilen können.

Modelle, die geeignet sind, Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien zu simulieren, müssen einige notwendige Kriterien erfüllen. Die Formulierung dieser Kriterien, angepasst an österreichische Gegebenheiten, ist das Hauptziel dieses Projekts, das vom Lebensministerium in Auftrag gegeben und von SERI in Kooperation mit dem Österreichischen Wirtschaftsforschungsinstitut (WIFO) durchgeführt wurde.

Ausgehend von der Darstellung theoretischer Nachhaltigkeitsmodelle werden existierende empirische Modelle auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene beschrieben und analysiert. Aufbauend auf den daraus gewonnenen Erkenntnissen werden anschließend notwendige Kriterien erarbeitet, die ein angemessenes Nachhaltigkeitsmodell unbedingt erfüllen sollte. Die formulierten Kriterien sollen bei zukünftigen Anstrengungen in der Modellentwicklung eine Hilfestellung bieten. Da die Datenverfügbarkeit dem Modellbau einige Einschränkungen vorgibt, wird auf sie gesondert Bedacht genommen.

Download der Studie

Publikationen

Projektpartner


Projektdauer

  • 2003 – 2004


Verwandte Themen


Projekt Website


 

Highlight: Ernährung


SERI Newsletter | Archive
* required field